St. Ann’s Episcopal Church Barbara Scibetta Memorial Scholarship Awards 2015

St. Ann’s Episcopal Church

Barbara Scibetta Memorial Scholarship

The scholarships awarded this year totaled $9,000.

St. Ann’s Episcopal Church is pleased to announce the 2015 Scholarship Recipients:  Janel Gonzalez, Guillermo Hernandez, Isabella Malek, Jeremy Pineda, Marilyn Valadez.

Barbara Scibetta Memorial Scholarship Award Recipients and Presenters


Pictured, left to right: The Rev. Pat Conley; Jeremy Pineda; Isabella Malek; Janel Gonzalez; Guillermo Hernandez; Terri Scibetta

Barbara Scibetta Memorial Scholarship Award Recipient and Presenters - Valadez




Pictured, left to right: Terri Scibetta; Marilyn Valadez; The Rev. Pat Conley





The 2015 Application Criteria:

  • Recipients must be graduating seniors from Woodstock H.S. and Woodstock North H.S.
  • Cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher (does not require highest marks all students encouraged to apply)

Barbara Scibetta (pictured on right)

Barbara Scibetta valued learning in her life, and in the lives of others. She was concerned about the high cost of post high school education. Her family and the good people of St Ann’s Episcopal Church in Woodstock, Illinois, have established the St. Ann’s Episcopal Church Barbara Scibetta Scholarship fund. This fund is intended to help students like her who may not be part of the academic elite but are motivated to pursue an education that will help them enrich their lives and become self-sufficient members of society. Barbara’s father, Norman Scibetta, was an Elgin educator who knew that a university education was not for everyone. He was instrumental in organizing the cooperative education program in Elgin High School District U-46. This scholarship was awarded to students who had demonstrated motivation to improve their lives through education, be it community college or trade school.